Marathon training (5/2/18 – 11/2/18)

Monday:

So I decided to try the Yasso 800s workout today. This workout supposedly predicts marathon finishing time from a session of 10 x 800 meters with equal time rest between each 800 meters. The time you run your intervals (in minutes and seconds) supposedly estimates how fast you can run 26.2 miles. So if you run your intervals in 3 minutes 10 seconds, that would give you an estimated marathon time of 3 hours 10 minutes.

I decided to run my intervals at around 3:30, give or take 10 seconds either way, but I stuck to 3:30 recovery time. If I’m honest I didn’t really find the workout that hard, I’ve been running 800m intervals with 90 seconds recovery, so to have over double that was a bit of a luxury. I’d be extremely happy if it did equate to a 3 hour 30 minute marathon, but I’m pretty sceptical given how easy I ran the workout.

Tuesday:

So I did another 30 minutes fartlek run tonight. I must admit I really wasn’t feeling it. Had such a crappy day in work all I wanted to do was come home and have a beer….but I’ve carried over my dry January into February so decided on a packet of wine gums instead! Hopefully the 581 calories I burned running have offset those a little! I managed to cover a total distance of 6.4 km in the 30 minutes so I was pretty pleased with that, especially as I wasn’t feeling the run at all!

Wednesday:

So Wednesdays are turning into a bit of a regular rest day at the moment. I’m trying to fit two “rest days” into my training week, one total rest and one recovery run. Today was total rest day, I didn’t even hit 4000 steps all day, but man it felt good!

Thursday:

Today I ran 800m hard, 400m easy 5 times. Turns out it’s a really hard way to run 6k! I found today’s session a lot harder than Mondays yasso 800 workout. I really pushed hard on each 800m, and ran a comfortable but still good pace for the 400m easy recovery periods. I ended up with a average pace of 4.24/km which I was pretty pleased with.

Friday:

So this is my second week of back to back long runs. Last week I ran 10km and 12.2km on consecutive days and I’m planning on increasing these distances gradually each week. Today for my first long run I went for a 13km run. I managed to finish in 1:02:16, giving me an average pace of 4.47 min/km. Felt really good again today and it was hard not to run a bit further, but I know it’s important to gradually build myself back up so I stuck to 13km.

Saturday:

Another 13 km today for my second long run of my back to back training. Ran it slightly slower than yesterday in 1:03:56. I started today’s run with a few aches and pains from yesterday’s run, my calf was very tight despite plenty of stretching. It took a good 4-5 km to really loosen up and feel comfortable in my running again.

Sunday:

To finish off the week a little 5 km recovery run. I’m still kind of new to this recovery run malarkey. I’m not the most competitive person when it comes to racing others, I try not to compare what I do to what others are doing, but I’m extremely competitive against myself. I like to push myself, challenge myself to run faster or longer than last time, so I’m finding it quite nice to actually run at a slower comfortable pace and enjoy the run instead of always struggling from pushing myself so hard.

Author: valleyrunner1985

South Wales Valley runner, fundraising for the National Autistic Society

Leave a comment